Feeling Strangely Fine

Green Rice Goodness

This is the best rice I’ve ever eaten.  Consider this your warning that if you’re trying for carb control you shouldn’t make this as you may not be able to stop eating it once you start.  That is, unless you are one of those strange cilantro haters.  How can you hate the greatest herb God ever made?!  Some do, my parents for instance.  I luckily did not inherit this hatred and love it.  I have made herbed rice before by stirring in some cilantro and lime after it was cooked and thought that was good.  So I was intrigued when the new issue of Everyday Food had a recipe for green rice, which called for cilantro.  Simple and delicious, my favorite combination.  I served with lemon chicken and veggies.
 

Green Rice
(May 2010 Everyday Food)

In a blender combine 1 cup packed fresh cilantro leaves, 1/2 cup packed fresh parsley leaves, 1/4 white onion, 1 clove minced garlic, and 1-3/4 cups water.  Season with coarse salt and black pepper and blend until smooth.  Heat 1 tblsp of olive oil in medium saucepan, add 1 cup long-grain white rice and stir to coat.  Add herb mixture and bring to a boil, reduce to simmer, cover and cook until water is absorbed.  Add 1 tblsp lime juice and fluff with fork. 
 

Leave a comment