Feeling Strangely Fine

Irish Soda Bread

Happy almost St. Patrick’s Day!  In honor of the occasion I will share with you the “family” Irish Soda Bread recipe.  At least that is what I had always considered it to be until recently.  For as long as I can remember St. Pat’s Day was celebrated with Mom’s Irish Soda Bread, which she only ever made in the month of March.  At some point I asked and was granted this recipe and now I too make it every St. Pat’s for colleagues to share.  

Suffice it to say it was a bit disappointing to learn that this traditional family fare was originally sourced from the back of a Star magazine, which my paternal grandmother bought religiously for the crossword puzzle (as she swore was the only reason she bought the tabloid weekly).  So, this is the Irish Soda Bread recipe that some random Star reader shared some years ago and is now made annually by my mother and I.  I guess this is how family traditions begin really, you borrow other people’s ideas and make them your own.  So enjoy and start your own St. Pat’s day tradition!

Irish Soda Bread

4 cups flour
3 Tablespoons sugar, + some for dusting
4 Teaspoons Baking Powder 
1 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Cup Raisins
2 Cups Buttermilk

Mix dry ingredients, add in the buttermilk.  I separate into thirds and form a shamrock shape, as does my momma (was this part of the recipe or an add I wonder???).  Brush with milk and sprinkle with sugar.  Bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes.  Allow to cool completely before packing up to share!

Comments are closed.

