Feeling Strangely Fine

Adventures in New Foods-Guinness

That’s right, I had never had Guinness.  I do love my beer and tend to prefer ambers but the darkness of Guinness has been a bit off-putting for me.  I figured it was time to give the stout a try and when better than now in honor of St. Patrick’s Day; so this week’s new food is Guinness.  Though technically a drink, I’ve prepared some edible delights to qualify it as food.  I did give it a try as a drink and despite my best intentions I do not find the chocolatey-rich beer very appetizing.  I actually don’t like any beer with undertones of flavoring, Lindemans didn’t fare well either in a taste test.  

As for my Guinness fare, for the main course it was stout-soaked beef with boxty (potato pancakes).  I found a number of Boxty recipes, most using equal parts raw and mashed potato.

Irish Boxty:

1 cup mashed potatoes (I used Russet potatoes)
1 cup grated raw potatoes
1 cup flour
1 egg
1 Tblsp Buttermilk
Chives
Salt and Pepper 

The chives were my addition.  Heat olive oil in a pan and drop potato mixture in cooking about 3 minutes per side.  The boxty was delicious.  The meat was ok.  I didn’t have any rosemary so that would have added more flavor.  The sauce didn’t quite thicken as the video showed either, mine was more of an au jus and not nearly as pretty to plate.  

For dessert I went with Chocolate Stout Cupcakes.  Again failure to check pantry before going shopping was a complication since I had no muffin cups and the only tin I have makes rose-like cupcakes, which is why they look upside down in the pic.  They’re yummy though, very moist and delicious.  

To continue St. Patty’s celebrations I have left over mashed potatoes for Shepherds Pie.

Leave a Reply

