Feeling Strangely Fine

Adventures in New Foods-Beets

According to the New York Times beets are a “nutritional powerhouse” high in folate, potassium and manganese. Continuing my way through the Everyday Food  issue I bought last week, I made beet chips and beet/carrot slaw this weekend to give them a fair shot. I will agree with the NY Times assessment of beet’s taste:

“Beets have an earthy, hard-to-define flavor like no other vegetable’s”

I think this is just another way of saying they taste like dirt. The good thing about beets being this weeks new food was that it enabled me to buy the mandoline I’ve been meaning to get for some time now. So much easier to evenly cut, slice, dice and julienne! The beet chips were just sliced thinly, tossed with olive oil and baked. The beet slaw consisted of julienne cut beets, carrots and the beet greens tossed in olive oil, orange juice, red wine vinegar, mustard, salt and pepper. In defense of the beet I did overcook the chips a bit, but I don’t think that was their downfall.  The slaw looks better than it tastes; I don’t mind the greens but still not loving the beet.  The greens are high in vitamin C, beta-carotene, and calcium so not a complete loss.


I have one beet left and will take suggestions on prep and give the earthy little sucker one more try.

Leave a Reply

