Feeling Strangely Fine

Adventures in New Foods-Spaghetti Squash

  This one I actually enjoyed. I figured it must be spaghetti-like given the name but wasn’t expecting it to look as much like spaghetti as it did. The squash I bought had a little sticker on it claiming you should microwave for some undefined period of time to “soften the skin” then cut it in half and place cut-side down in a pan and roast for an hour. I warn you that if you try to do this you will become violent while cursing and ruining your knives trying to cut the f%@! thing in half. Eventually I successfully had two halves of spaghetti squash and got them in the oven only to later read on the inter-web that you should pierce the squash several times and roast it WHOLE then cook and cut.

Note to self: roast THEN cut.

But I digress, once done you just run a fork through the squash and ta-daa spaghetti!  While the squash was roasting, I sauteed some shallots, peppers, zuchinni and yellow squash in olive oil then added a can of Muir Glen fire roasted tomatoes and herbs then let simmer until ready to top my squash.  I also experimented with a Panko Meatball recipe I found online.  I followed the recipe except used fresh herbs and left out the cheese (some day I will have to make cheese a new food-this could be a problem considering the few I’ve tried have made me gag).  As for taste, it was really good. The squash is a different texture than you other types of squash or spaghetti for that matter; it has a crispness to it that was quite nice. The meatballs were yummy too.  There you have it, lots of veggies, some protein from the meatballs and not too heavy on the carbs.

Leave a Reply

