Feeling Strangely Fine

Week 1_The Tally

First week of 2010 and first week back to work and still adjusting to the return of my regimented life.  My body was in a bit of shock early in the week at the sudden and complete withdrawal from the alcohol and Christmas cookie diet.  I will say that my lunch salads with Wegmans rosemary balsamic chicken breast were yummy and  I am impressed with my spicy shrimp dinner creation.  I searched a bunch of recipe sites for a good rub and didn’t have all of the ingredients any of them called for so I made my own up from what I had in the pantry.  

Spicy Shrimp:
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon white cooking wine

Just brush the rub on the shrimp and cook.  It was pretty spicy with the rub on just one side so be warned.  

I also got my Wii and Wii Fit Plus with Balance Board this week!  I am loving it so far, though I did go ahead and get the EA Active Sports since it was $20 off as a daily deal on amazon.com the other day.  I think the EA Active will be the most utilized; I tried it today for the first time and it really is more like having a trainer to work with.  I started the 30-day challenge today so time will tell; at the very least it will keep me from being dormant through this arctic winter.   Does Wii count in the tally towards trying something new?!  Just kidding, kind of.  I was thinking of taking an online digital photography class as my first something new but that cost too much as I still financially  recover from the holidays. I’ve decided to start with knitting, since the Stitch N Bitch book is only $10 and I can get needles from my mom.  Plus, if I’m actually good at it think of the money I’ll save on clothes (OK that time I really was kidding).  

Week 1 Tally:
I ate homemade lunch 5/7 days and stuck with my oatmeal or english muffin breakfast 6/7 days; 
Exercise has been limited to fooling around with the Wii, but I’ve averaged 150-250 calories a day on it so not bad\

Leave a Reply

